Post early for Christmas

letterbox

If you’re sending cards or presents by mail, either within the UK or overseas, these are the dates you need to know about – don’t miss the post!

INTERNATIONAL STANDARD (FORMERLY AIRMAIL)
LATEST RECOMMENDED POSTING DATES DESTINATION
Saturday 3 December Africa, Middle East
Wednesday 7 December Asia, Cyprus, Far East (inc Japan) Eastern Europe
Thursday 8 December Caribbean, Central and South America
Saturday 10 December Australia, Greece, New Zealand
Wednesday 14 December Czech Republic, Germany, Italy, Poland
Thursday 15 December Canada, Finland, Sweden, USA
Friday 16 December Austria, Denmark, Iceland, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland
Saturday 17 December Belgium, France, Ireland, Luxembourg
INTERNATIONAL STANDARD HM FORCES MAIL – BRITISH FORCES POST OFFICE® (BFPO)
LATEST RECOMMENDED POSTING DATES DESTINATION
Monday 28 November Operational BFPOs
Monday 12 December Static BFPOs
UK INLAND SERVICES
LATEST RECOMMENDED POSTING DATE SERVICE
Tuesday 20 December 2nd Class
Wednesday 21 December 1st Class & Royal Mail Tracked 48®
Thursday 22 December Royal Mail Special Delivery Guaranteed® & Royal Mail Tracked 24®
Friday 23 December Royal Mail Special Delivery Guaranteed®  with Saturday Guaranteed

Poetry and printing for Christmas

rural-antics-workshop

If you fancy having a go at making unique Christmas cards featuring your own poem and hand-printed design, here’s an event that’s sure to appeal…

Regular listeners to the show will already know Fiona Theokritoff as a Newark-based homeopath and the Girls Around Town‘s wellbeing guru. But did you know that’s she’s a poet too?

Or that, on Saturday 29 October, she’ll be presenting a Christmas Poetry and Printing Workshop at the Hanwell Wine Estate in Kinoulton?

Join Fiona between 10am and 4pm as she helps you ‘mine’ your memories of Christmas and find your inner poet, guiding you through the creation of your poem with a series of simple writing exercises. Then, after you’ve typed up your work on a vintage typewriter, she’ll show you how to design and decorate up to six cards.

Choose between making simple print blocks, using original printer’s letter blocks or creating a design with stamps and cutters – all materials and resources for the day will be provided, although you’re welcome to bring along a special item that represents Christmas for you.

No previous experience is necessary so the workshop is perfect for beginners. Places are £70 each, including a homemade two-course lunch served with local wine, but they’re limited so don’t leave it too long to make your booking. Register online here or email fiona@fionatheokritoff.co.uk for more details…

Can you imagine a better way to start your preparations for a memorable Christmas than by creating your very own hand-printed keepsakes?